Puntland elects 11 senators to join Somalia’s upcoming Parliament

The election of the parliament has been delayed twice after a political crisis pitting the outgoing president Farmajo and the Federal States. 

News Keydmedia Online
Puntland elects 11 senators to join Somalia’s upcoming Parliament

GAROWE, Somalia - Puntland state has elected its 11 senators to represent in Somalia's 11th Federal Parliament following an indirect election in Garowe on Wednesday.

Former Puntland President Abdirahman Farole won re-election after defeating Mohamed Osman Olad, 54 to 11 votes cast by 65 regional lawmakers who voted among the two candidates contested for the first seat.

Mohamed Ali Yusuf won easily the second seat after his main challenger, a female runner Kawsar Abdullahi dropped from the poll. Among the winners include members of the Puntland cabinet who will ditch their posts to join the Somali national assembly.

The following are the Senate-elect members:

  1. Abdirahman Farole - re-elected 
  2. Mohamed Ali Gaagaab
  3. Mohamed Abdi Osman
  4. Abdullahi Ali Hersi
  5. Abdisamad Yusuf Mohamed
  6. Dahir Ayanle Said
  7. Farhan Hussein Ali - re-elected 
  8. Saynab Ismail Mohamed 
  9. Abdiqani Gelle Mohamed
  10. Samira Mohamud Haji
  11. Saredo Mohamed Hassan

Galmudug announced it will hold the Senate election on Thursday after President Qoor-Qoor has unveiled the list of six candidates, out of the 8 seats allocated to the state.

Jubaland and Southwest elected four and five senators respectively as the country kicked off elections for representatives of the Upper House following a delay in the voting deadline.


    There are no comments for this entry yet.

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.